Blueberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

There are days when I wake up and all I want is muffins.  It’s usually because I have blueberries in the fridge.  Once I get started, I pull together all the ingredients and usually find that I don’t have enough blueberries. As I look in my pantry for other ingredients there is always one thing I have enough of: chocolate chips.  Inevitably I measure out my blueberries and top the rest of the cup with chocolate chips and throw a batch of Blueberry Chocolate Chip Muffins into the oven.

Whenever I make muffins I pull out one of the first cookbooks I’ve ever received.  Muffins by Elizabeth Alston was given to me by my mother when I moved into my first home, in college.  She used to cook from it when she lived on her own, and every time I opened it I think of her, my age, measuring out the ingredients, eating muffins for weekday breakfast, stashing some in the freezer to keep fresh.   Alston’s muffins are always delicious, fluffy, and perfect on their own or served with eggs.

Blueberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

Adapted from Elizabeth Alston’s Muffins

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature
1 cup plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups blueberries (mash 1/2 cup with a fork)
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup milk
1 cup chocolate chips
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease 12 muffin cups, or use muffin papers.

In a medium bowl, beat butter until creamy.  Add sugar and beat until pale and fluffy.  Beat in eggs, then vanilla, baking powder, and salt.  Stir mashed berries into batter.  Fold half the flour into the butter mixture, then half the milk.  Add remaining flour and milk until combined.  Fold in remaining blueberries and chocolate chips.

In a separate bowl combine ground nutmeg and 1 tablespoon sugar.  Scoop batter into muffin cups and sprinkle with nutmeg mixture.

Bake 25 to 30 minutes, until golden brown.  Set muffins onto a wire rack and let cool for at least 20 minutes until removing from pan.  Serve warm or freeze until ready to eat.

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. These were delicious!! Thanks for the recipe. I made 16 muffins (with this recipe), used dark chocolate chips, and baked them for 22 minutes.

  2. These muffins were a hit with my friends! I didn’t have nutmeg on hand so I skipped the nugmeg mixture. I also wanted to experiment with olive oil so I used that instead of butter. There were positive responses; especially with how moist it turned out 🙂 Thanks for the great recipe Kirsty!

Leave a Reply

