A Toast to Love: St. Honore 75

I went to one of the most beautiful weddings this weekend.  Sharon & Tony are new friends.  She is the daughter of my boss, and he is one of the friendliest, no they are one of the friendliest, people I’ve ever met.  The wedding was full of the best charcuterie spread I’ve ever eaten, great dancing, and tons and tons and tons of love.

It may be a Monday, but the wedding has been lingering with me.  Love has been lingering with me.  Full with love was I at the service as David blessed the couple, full with love was I as Maggy toasted to them, and full with love was I as I dropped my boyfriend Ben at the airport.  Filled with such love and such joy of being with him that I broke into tears, as I must admit I always do.  And I realized that there is just as much love every day as there is in the extraordinary moments.

Without him tonight, with the wedding still lingering, it’s time to celebrate the every day and celebrate the extraordinary.  It is time to pull out the good alcohol and make a toast.  It’s time not for an ordinary drink, but an extraordinary drink.  This Monday I pull out my champagne and I pull out my all-time favorite liqueur.  I pull out my St. Germain.

I am in love with St. Germain.  The elderflower liqueur has a sweet taste that’s fabulous in summer and brings light to the winter.  I love St. Germain with seltzer and gin as an updated G&T.  I love it with tequila, I love it with grapefruit juice, and I especially love my St. Germain with Champagne.  I love a festive bottle of bubbly standing beside the most fabulous liqueur bottle I’ve ever laid eyes on.

So if you’re home alone tonight, or with your family, or with old friends or new ones, make it special.  Pull out the French bottle and your bubbly wine (or head to the liquor store and buy some!) and let’s make a toast to Sharon & Tony and a toast to the every day moments filled with love.

St. Honore 75
adapted from the St. Germain website

Serves 1

1/2 part lemon juice
1 part St. Germain
Top with Champagne (or other sparkling wine, such as Cava or Prosecco)

Pour lemon juice and St. Germain into a champagne flute.  Top with champagne.  Garnish with lemon twist.*

*The easiest way to cut a lemon twist is with everyday kitchen-ware to use a vegetable peeler.  Cut the lemon around its diameter, forming a spiraling, circular wedge.  Just make sure not to trim to much of the white pith as it will form a bitter taste.

2 thoughts on “A Toast to Love: St. Honore 75

  1. Kirsty, this is a beautiful post. You bring a great deal of love into the lives of people you are in contact with and so you receive love in return. That’s my perspective. You are love and light. Just what the world needs.

  2. If you already know that “there is just as much love every day as there is in the extraordinary moments,” then you are already a wise woman. I’m also predicting that your wedding day will be very joyful! : )

Leave a Reply

