Spiced Molasses Cookies with Fresh Ginger

Food bloggers are a rare breed.  They are nicer than most people.  They cook better too.

If I’m being completely honest I’ve been nervous about going to the New York Cookie Swap since I signed up for it a month ago.  The nice Maggy Keet was kind enough to include me in her email to her family about the exchange (I work for Pam and 3MC).  Would I be able to go?…Would I?!  My day was open, a check could be ready, but what on Earth was I going to do about making cookies.

If you aren’t yet aware, I’m new to cooking “for real,” and when I say “for real” I do mean on my own, without a recipe.  Because the fact is there is a point in your cooking experience that you realize it isn’t enough to execute, if you’re really good you must create, you must think on the spot.  Don’t have enough white wine on hand?  No problem, you can add chicken broth, and best news, you’ll know how much to add as a substitute.  These are the experiences I live for while cooking, the ones where I flex my muscles and pull it off.  On my own.

So when I had to pull together a recipe for the exchange it wouldn’t be enough anymore to find a really good one and follow it.  And with the varying opinions on what makes the best chocolate chip cookie, my one true baking recipe wouldn’t do.  I’d have to improvise. Spiced Molasses Cookies with Fresh Ginger it would be, simple enough to execute really well on my own, “for real.”

The swap was beyond.  Jackie, Ken, Gail, and Maggy had organized the perfect environment for bloggers to get together and feel so…at home.  Everyone was jolly from the beautiful day, the smell of the holiday season in the air, and the fact that we were all together.  Being new to the food blogging scene I felt lucky to be welcomed open-armed, and was so glad to leave with new friends and better friends.  The icing on the cookie?  I left with a huge stash of cookies, bars, and candies.  And I simply had to take a bite, in one sitting, of every single one.

Spiced Molasses Cookies with Fresh Ginger
or The Cookies I Brought to the New York Cookie Swap

Makes 2 dozen

12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground all spice
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Confectioner’s sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix butter, sugar, and molasses.  Lightly beat egg and add to the butter mixture, mix well.

In a medium bowl, whisk flour, spices, salt, and baking soda.  Add to butter mixture and mix until well combined.

Line pan bottom and up and over the long sides with tin foil.  Using an ice cream scoop, drop cookie batter on foil, leaving generous inches between the cookies as they will spread during baking.

Bake until cookies begin to darken, 8 to 12 minutes.  Remove from oven while still soft.  Lift foil from pan to let cookies cool.

Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar, using a sifter.  Serve.

4 thoughts on “Spiced Molasses Cookies with Fresh Ginger

Leave a Reply

