The Very Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have been on a Search for The Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.  It began on my blog thirsty with a k and ended with a revelation.  I had thought I had discovered it.

It wasn’t until baking cookies recently, after having started my new job with cookbook author Pam Anderson, that I realized my recipe was not one I had discovered but one I had created.  It took testing, tasting, and discussing recipes weekly with a food professional to up my confidence and make me feel like maybe I did know a little something about cooking and baking.  Maybe my recipe was truly mine.

So here you’ll find my very first, and very own chocolate chip cookie recipe.  A medley of my trials and errors, a mélange of experiences, this recipe’s trick is the oven temperature and combination of three different kinds of sugars.  So please, taste it.  Let me know what you think, what you tried, what you’d recommend.  This will, inevitably be the first of many Chocolate Chip Cookie recipes because once you begin a search, you are never satisfied.

The Very Best Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes about 3 dozen

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted in the microwave until soft, about 30 seconds
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar*
2 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Adjust oven rack to upper-middle position and preheat oven to 360 degrees.  In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and baking powder.  In a small bowl, whisk eggs, vanilla, and salt.

In a third, large bowl mix sugars.  Slowly add butter to the sugar mixture until creamy.  Add egg mixture to the bowl and stir until smooth.  Slowly add dry ingredients, stirring into a smooth dough.  Add chocolate chips until well-incorporated.

Spoon 10 to 15 cookie balls onto each cookie sheet.  Bake cookies one sheet at a time (or if you’re impatient, two sheets that are rotated halfway through cooking process) until golden brown, about 12 to 15 minutes.  Remove cookies from the oven and cool on a wire rack.  Repeat with remaining dough.

While the first batch of cookies is in the oven, feel free to set remaining dough in the fridge to cool.  If you’d prefer to bake only one sheet of cookies, simply roll dough into a three-inch circumferenced log and freeze or refrigerate until ready to bake.

*If you are without both dark and light brown sugar, don’t worry!  Substitute light brown sugar with half granulated sugar and half dark brown sugar.

Leave a Reply

