Goat Cheese and Apple Tart

This is my first recipe.  The first recipe I really made up and wrote down all in a sequence.  That wasn’t right the first time, so I tested it again.  This is my first recipe I researched before making.  That I discovered tricks I wanted to use, and set out to use them.

Its first test I served at a party, as an appetizer.  It is a nice tart because it is a little savory and a little sweet.  A guest recommended I try it with lemon, to give it a little acidity.  Taking his challenge, I tried the tart again–making my own pie crust the second time.  The tart was better, the pie crust was not right, so you’ll have to wait on that recipe.  The second tart we ate for breakfast.  It’s delightful with coffee.  We also ate it with afternoon tea.  It’s delightful with tea.

Since it’s my very first recipe, please be kind, and taste with a true tongue.  But, please, too, let me know what you think of it.  Does it need less lemon?  More?  Do you want to eat it for breakfast?  Lunch?  Appetizer?

Goat Cheese and Apple Tart
Serves 6 to 8

1 pre-made pie dough
One package (4 ounces) goat cheese
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon herbs de Provence*
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
Generous pinch of salt
1 apple, cored and thinly sliced
1 tablespoon pure olive oil
1 egg, separated, yolk discarded

Adjust oven rack to lowest position and heat oven to 400 degrees.  Unfurl pie dough on a floured surface and roll to an 11-inch diameter.  Slide onto a cookie sheet.

Mix goat cheese, honey, herbs de Provence, lemon zest, and salt in a small bowl.  Mix apples and olive oil to cover.  Sprinkle goat cheese mixture onto dough, leaving a 2-inch border.  Arrange apples atop the goat cheese, making sure the cheese is completely covered.  Fold pastry dough over the fruit, and brush dough with egg white.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until dough is golden brown and apples tender.  Remove tart from cookie sheet, and cool on a wire rack.  Serve warm or room temperature.

*The Herbs de Provence we have has lavender, which is really delightful in this recipe.

2 thoughts on “Goat Cheese and Apple Tart

  1. Hi Kirsty,

    I live in Europe and am the founder of a restaurant guide series called The Good Taste Guides, web address, http://www.goodtasteguides.com and see you have just launched a website with a very similar name to my books. Thankfully, you are blogging about things I also like – food, fashion etc, so if we get any cross-traffic it should be a positive experience for both sides. If you do get anyone enquiring about where they can get Jersey’s first independent restaurant guide though, please point them in the right direction.

    Best Wishes,

    Julia.

    P.S The goat’s cheese and apple tart looks tasty. I sometimes make a similar puff pastry tartlet with goat’s cheese and asparagus (more savoury). The way I stop it going soggy in the middle is to put less topping there and put it on a hot baking tray. Anyway, good luck with your recipes.

  2. Hi Julia
    Lovely to hear from you! If I ever get any inquiries r.e. Good Taste Guides I will point immediately to you. Glad to hear that you enjoy the site (I don’t even feel like I’m ready to launch yet!), and also enjoyed your advice regarding the tart. Asparagus sounds yummy.
    I visited your website and am desperately wishing I could travel to Jersey and try the restaurants you’ve reviewed.
    All the Best,
    Kirsty

Leave a Reply

